Stranraer Bonspiel 2013 – results

The Irish International Bonspiel took place on the weekend of 22/23rd February 2013
at Northwest Castle Hotel, Stranraer, Scotland.

This was the 16th annual bonspeil and as usual the North West Castle Hotel were excellent hosts for the event.

All teams enjoyed 4 games of curling which was scored using the schenkel system and split into high and low roads on the Sunday.

Kathie & Jim Nixon

Kathie & Jim Nixon

Everyone paid tribute to Jim and Kathie Nixon who have now retired from organising this Irish Weekend after many years. They were presented with  a curling print and flowers by Bill and Janie Gray. Bill said: “On behalf of the ICA, I would like to thank Jim and Kathie for their tireless effort in making a success of our Irish International Bonspiel over the past number of years.”


High Road winners of the Granite Trophy – Kathie Nixon, David Whyte, Kara Compton, Frances Whyte and Peter Wilson (skip) presented by ICA President, Bill Gray


High Road Runners Up with The Ailsa Craig Painting – Alastair Fyfe, Kate Adams & Neil Fyfe (skip) & lead Alison Fyfe (absent) presented by ICA President Bill Gray.


Low Road Winners of the Oak Trophy – Andrew Robinson, Rosemary Griffths, Alan Griffths, Rhona Robinson presented by the ICA President, Bill Gray


Low Road Runners Up with the Quaich Trophy
Michael Sutherland, Fiona Turnbull, Frank Forest, Roberta-Ann Forest presented by ICA president Bill Gray.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *