Prizes for Pete’s Posse at Kinross

Both the men’s and women’s senior squads got a run out at the  Kinross Over 40s prior to heading Canada for the World Senior Championships in April.

Peter, Johnjo, David W and David H

Peter Wilson, who skipped Ireland to world senior bronze last year, has formed a new team this season with the bulk of the gold medal senior winners from 2012 – Johnjo Kenny, Bill Gray, David Whyte and David Hume – in it. Unfortunately Bill injured his leg and couldn’t play last weekend so David Hume played at lead. The team finished as the ‘middle road’ winners with just one loss in five games, and that was due to an unfortunate pick-up with Peter’s last stone of the game drawing for the win against the eventual winners.

The ladies played four games, winning two and losing two, and were pleased with their performance overall.

Peter, Clare, Marie, David W, Louise, David H and Carloyn. Johnjo was on the dancefloor…

It was a brilliant weekend socially and thanks go to the organising committee, including our very own Johnjo, for working so hard to make sure everything was spot on for the competitors to curl hard on the ice and party hard off it.

The Return of the TT!

Tony, Tommy, Charlotte and Phil

Great to see Tony Tierney back on the ice at Kinross at the weekend – and winning a prize as well!

He and Charlotte teamed up with Phil Barton and Tommy Campbell for the Over 40s bonspiel and topped the low road. It was a fantastic competition on the ice and great fun off it and looks set to become a regular event on the curling calendar for many years.

Well done TT. Normal service is resumed.

Mixed Doubles – day 2

The ICA Mixed Doubles is  to be a best-of-three challenge between Mitchell & Sweeney- Baird and Fyfe & Fyfe, with one win on the board for the Fyfes.


Session 3 – Fyfe/Fyfe 9 Barr/Barr 1; Mitchell/Sweeney-Baird 7 Whyte/Anderson 4

Session 4 – Fyfe/Fyfe 8 Mitchell/Sweeney-Baird 4; Whtye/Anderson 4 McCrossan/Ward 10

Session 5 – Fyfe/Fyfe 8 Whyte/Anderson 3; McCrossan/Ward 10 Barr/Barr 5

So, Alan and Margarita and Neil and Alison will play each other again at 9.30am on Sunday. If the Fyfes win, they are champions again, if Alan and Margarita win it goes to a decider.

image1Some Swedes and Canadians were also in Dumfries today……..

Autumn Bonspiel at Braehead

The ICA held its Autumn Bonspiel at Braehead yesterday with six rinks taking part.

Gavin, Cillian and John

Gavin, Cillian and John

The Association was delighted to welcome new members Cillian Stewart, John McConnell and Gavin O’Callaghan to the fold. Thanks also to super-sub Charlotte Tierney and mini-super-sub Erin Furey, who stepped into the breach to fill the rinks due to call-offs.

The winning rink was David Whyte, Margarita Sweeney-Baird, Nathan Furey and Trish Boult.

Results – John Furey 7 James Russell 9; Craig Whyte 5 John Wilson 6; David Whyte 10 Carolyn Hibberd 7.

The winners - Trish, Margarita, Nathan and David

The winners – Trish, Margarita, Nathan and David

After the game, Tony Tierney kindly presented the prizes of wine to the grown-ups and chocolate to Nathan.

Edinburgh Senior winners have a green tinge this year

Eric, Neil, Doug and Robin

Eric, Neil, Doug and Robin

Well done to ICA members Robin Gray and Neil Fyfe who, along with team-mates Doug Kerr and Eric Richardson, won the Edinburgh International Senior men’s title at Murrayfield last weekend.

It had looked like the official men’s team – Peter Wilson,  Johnjo Kenny, Bill Gray and David Whyte, might make the final too, but unfortunately they were beaten in the semi by Callum Harvey.

Johnjo’s team win Fyfe Trophy

Winners - John, Gillian, David and Johnjo with Ann presenting

Winners – John, Gillian, David and Johnjo with Anne presenting

Johnjo Kenny and his rink of John Burns, David Hume and Gillian Russell won the Fyfe Trophy, the Irish Open Championships, at Braehead Ice Rink on Saturday.

Six rinks took park in the round-robin, five games of three-ends format, and two rinks played with three players only, due to last minute call offs.

Anne with the high road runners-up Bob, Clare and David

Anne with the high road runners-up Bob, Clare and David

The runners-up were David Whyte, Care McCormack and Bob Sherrard.

High road third place went to Neil, Anne, Margarita and John

High road third place went to Neil, Anne, Margarita and John

Third place in the high road went to Neil Fyfe, John Gilmore, Margarita Sweeney-Baird and Anne Gibson.

Anne with low road winners Alison, Eoin and David

Anne with low road winners Alison, Eoin and David

The winners of the low  road were Alison Fyfe, Dave Hibberd and Eoin McCrossan.

Anne Gibson presented the trophy and medals to the winners on behalf of the Fyfe family.

Irish win the world’s oldest curling fixture

Two teams for the ICA played Ardrossan Castle at Greenacres last night in the oldest international fixture in curling – it has been played – on and off – since 1861.

The Irish team of Martin Sutherland (skip) Carolyn Hibberd, Marie O’Kane and Clare MacCormick (Lead) defeated the Ardrossan Castle side of Gordon Christie, Donnie Shedden, Bill Stevely and Angus Dodds  by 13 shots to 3. The game seemed closer than that but our side were always able to get their stones in the right positions on very swinging ice where weight was crucial.

The other ICA team of Neil Fyfe, Christine Furey, Alan Mitchell and Erin Furey had a much closer tussle against Frazer Erskine , and C ,K, and G Millen.

This  was a game of two halves with the Irish being 4-0 down after four ends.  They fought back to level the game at 4 all but a brilliant  last shot by skip Frazer swung the game Ardrossan’s way with the final score standing at 4- 7.  Overall the winners of the Belfast Medal Trophy are the Irish Curling Association.

20141130_162641The player of the match, which was agreed by everyone, was young Erin Furey.  At 11 years of age it was thought that she is the youngest winner of the oldest curling international fixture in the world.   Also the youngest Irish player to have taken part in an International match.  Our lucky little leprechaun has been booked for next year’s fixture!

The game was followed by a supper at the rink and time for a catch up with everyone

ICA opening bonspiel

opening-bonspielThe ICA held its opening bonspiel at Greenacres Ice Rink on Sunday, October 16th. Four rinks played eight ends and there was a tie for the prizes with both Neil Fyfe’s team and James Russell’s team beating their opposition by four shots. James, playing with Marie O’Kane, Eoin McCrossan and Trish Boult, were declared the winners as they had scored more shots.

N Fyfe 9 A Cameron 5;
J Russell 11 D Hume 7

The winners! James, Marie. Eoin and Trish

The winners!
James, Marie. Eoin and Trish

President Louise presented the perpetual trophy and the prizes afterwards and winning skip James duly thanked his rink for playing so well, and his opposition for the good game as well as thanking Carolyn Hibberd for organising the bonspiel and Greenacres staff for the ice and the soup and sandwiches afterwards.

The ICA were delighted to welcome two new members to the ranks  – Patricia ‘Trish’ Boult and Roberta Warwick.

Members also signed a get well card for Tony Tierney, who is at home recovering from cancer treatment. Everyone in the ICA wishes Tony the speediest of recoveries and that his life, and Charlotte’s, returns to normal as soon as possible and they are back where they belong – on the ice playing with us.